Results of the LED Steering Committee election


During the LED2021 Conference Business Meeting, the LED Working Group proposed that the next step towards establishing an International Society for the LED community is the online election of a Steering Committee (see also https://led2021.wordpress.com/luminescence-society-working-group/). The elected Steering Committee will then formally establish the Society and run it for the benefit of the entire Luminescence and ESR dating community.
Our community agreed in electing a Steering Committee, composed of seven members:
  • 1 President
  • 1 Young Researcher (within 8 years of award of their highest degree (usually PhD))
  • 4 Standard Members (which includes a treasurer and a secretary)
  • 1 Ancient TL Editor (not elected; currently held by Regina DeWitt)

A small election committee was established to organize the election. It consists of six members:
  • Jan-Pieter Buylaert (Technical University of Denmark, Denmark),
  • S√©bastien Huot (Illinois State Geological Survey, USA),
  • Jintang Qin (Institute of Geology, China Earthquake Administration, China),
  • Jingran Zhang (Nanjing Normal University, China),
  • Mary Evans (University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa),
  • Mauro Fasoli (University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy)

The elected LED Steering Committee

The online voting using the Belenios system was successful and completed on 6th June 2023. In total 169 ballots were accepted from 203 registered voters. The election committee confirms that this was a fair election.
The following people will form the first LED Steering Committee:




Ordinary Member

Silesian University of Technology, Institute of Physics, Poland

Ordinary Member

Zhejiang University, China

Ordinary Member

University of Wollongong, Australia

Young Researcher

University of Cologne, Germany

Ordinary Member

Aberystwyth University, UK


Leibniz Institute for Applied Geophysics, Germany

Copyright © 2023 DTU Physics. All Rights Reserved.